2016 Award Winners

With the conclusion of the 2016 season, we announce the 2016 Award winners.  There’s a new one just added today, as I’m finishing up the stats for the season.

Game Balls:

Game 1:  Asa Holcomb

Game 2:  Kolin Easterling

Game 3:  Lindale Baker

Game 4:  Lemuel Miner

Line Award (for best per-minute team production):  Brendan Royer

Abele Award (for Hardest Worker):  Keylan Horn

Hamilton Award (for Best Sportsman):  Connor Parrish

Smith Award (for Best Teammate):  Lemuel Miner

Congrats, guys.



Welcome to the Greyhound Blog.

Hello folks, and on behalf of all the Greyhounds past, present, and future, welcome to the Greyhound Blog.

I’m Joe Vancil, and I started the Greyhounds back in 2007.  At the time, we did it because a bunch of players who played in Upward wanted to keep playing.  Since then, it has gone on to become a way to introduce Upward players to competitive basketball.

I have to tell you, I’m not sure how this blog is going to unfold.  I did this partly to play with some new technology, and partly because I adore talking about my Greyhound players.  These guys have made a big difference to me, and I want to tell you about that as time goes by.

In addition to my comments, I’m sharing this blog with Mason Chandler and Sam Clubb, who are currently the assistant coaches for the upcoming 2016 Greyhound team.

Thanks for your interest in the Greyhounds!

And for those of you Greyhounds reading this with an upcoming season, the best of luck to you!